You are currently viewing New Clovis City Council sworn-in, new mayor selected

New Clovis City Council sworn-in, new mayor selected

The Clovis City Council selected Councilmember Jose Flores as the new Clovis Mayor and Councilmember Lynne Ashbeck as Mayor Pro Tem during a special session Monday night. The action took place shortly after newly re-elected Councilmembers Lynne Ashbeck and Vong Mouanoutoua were sworn-in to office.

Councilmembers Ashbeck and Mouanoutoua were re-elected during the city’s general municipal election on March 2, 2021. The two Councilmembers will serve for a term running through November 2024.

The remainder of the City Council consists of Councilmembers Drew Bessinger, Jose Flores, and Bob Whalen. All have terms which run through November 2022.

Councilmember Bessinger was also recognized Monday night and thanked for serving as mayor since 2019

Clovis voters elect a 5- member council to serve as the city’s legislative and governing body. The members serve 4 year terms and they select one member to serve as mayor and another to serve as mayor pro tem, each for 2 year terms. Last month’s general municipal election was the city’s last election to be held in March. Future elections will be held every two years in November of each even numbered year.